Metternich Castle stands above the charming Moselle village of Beilstein, surrounded by vineyards. The large castle terrace alone is well worth a visit. From here, you can enjoy a stunning panoramic view over the Moselle valley. Refreshments of ice cream, coffee and a selection of cakes are on offer. Enjoy exquisite Moselle wines along with a hearty snack from the castle´s kitchen in the Fürst-Metternich-Stube inn.
Entrance to the castle complex is free for our hotel guests!
Von unserem Hotel aus bieten wir Ihnen einen direkten Zugang zur hauseigenen Burg Metternich.
As early as 1268, the Lords of Braunshorn, who came from the Hunsrück low mountain range, were the verified owners of the castle as fief bearers of the Cologne Archdiocese. The core of the castle appears to be even older though. After the line died out, the daughter Lisa von Braunshorn transferred the castle along with its dominion to her husband Kuno von Winnenburg.
In 1371 it was transferred to the Electorate of the Palatinate. After the Winnenburg family died out in 1637, the lords of Metternich gained possession, having been endowed with the castle in settlement of a quarrel with the Electorate of Trier in 1652. The Metternichs did not enjoy their property for long though, as this “beautiful, noble castle” was destroyed by the French under Count Montalt on 2 February, 1689.
Directly in front of the keep to the south is a portal building with two round flanking towers (3), which probably date from the 14th century.